MACA Board Meeting Minutes

February 24, 2008

Holiday Inn, Boxborough, MA

The meeting was called to order at 2:32 PM. In attendance: Bob Messenger, Maryanne Reilly, Brian Lafferty, Donna Alarie, George Mirijanian, Stephen Dann, Kenneth Ballou. Brian Mottershead was present as a guest.

MOTION 8-142: Mirijanian/Lafferty, accept the minutes of the December 9, 2007, meeting as previously distributed. Passed without dissent.

Brian Lafferty presented the Election Commission report. Walter Champion has regrettably declined his nomination as a candidate for director. MACA will make brief candidate biographies available on the web site. The ballot will refer voters to the web site. Candidates are requested to e-mail biographies to Brian Lafferty at (please note the e-mail address). Mr. Lafferty will forward the collected biographies to the webmaster.

MOTION 8-143: Alarie/Lafferty, Brian Mottershead is appointed to the Board of Directors. Passed without dissent (abstentions: Ballou).

The President welcomed Mr. Mottershead to the MACA board with immediate effect.

Bob Messenger presented the treasurer's report covering the period November, 2007 through January, 2008. Mr. Messenger also presented financial reports for the Pillsbury Memorial, the scholastic qualifier held at Natick High School, the Holiday Team Challenge, and the Spiegel Cup.

MOTION 8-144: Alarie/Reilly, the financial report is accepted. Passed without dissent.

Bob Messenger presented the membership report. The membership report is appended to these minutes.

MOTION 8-145: Messenger/Ballou, John Simpson of Concord, MA, is a life member of MACA. Passed without dissent.

Kenneth Ballou presented the tournament committee report. The Mass. G/60 championship will be held Sunday, April 27, 2008, at the Kennedy Senior Center in Natick, MA.

Maryanne Reilly presented the scholastic committee report. The Gosselin Grade Championship will be held Sunday, March 2, 2008, at Natick High School. The Hurvitz Cup will be held Sunday, March 30, 2008, also at Natick High School. BB&N has offered a free site for a scholastic tournament Sunday, April 13, 2008. The 2008 Fall Foliage Festival (the first qualifier of the 2008-2009 cycle) is scheduled for September 29, 2008, at the Sage School.

MOTION 8-146: Eldridge, MACA will determine a more suitable tie break system for scholastic team tournaments.

MOTION 8-146a: Ballou/Reilly, refer to an ad hoc committee comprising Ballou (chair), Messenger, Mirijanian, and Eldridge. Passed without dissent.

George Mirijanian presented the publications report. The next issue of Chess Horizons will feature the five Spiegel Cup champions (note: co-champions in the 14/Under group). That issue will also include coverage of Qualifer #3, Qualifier #4, the Holiday Team Challenge, the Spiegel Cup, and the Gosselin Grade Championship.

MOTION 8-147: Reilly/Mirijanian, the board expresses great appreciation to Mark Kaprielian for extensive photographic coverage of the Spiegel Cup. Passed without dissent.

MOTION 8-148: Ballou/Mirijanian, MACA thanks Walter Champion for his generous donation of interesting game prizes for the Mass. Open and offers him a free entry to the tournament. Passed without dissent.


The board takes up motion 8-139 (postponed from the previous meeting).

MOTION 8-139: Dann/Reilly, Stephen Dann is appointed chair of the e-zine committee.

MOTION 8-139b: Messenger/Reilly, amend motion 8-139, replacing "Stephen Dann" with "Donna Alarie".

After some discussion, it was noted that George Mirijanian was the only committee member of the e-zine committee and that his resignation from the ad hoc committee left that committee's existence in question. By unanimous consent, it was the pleasure of the body to dispense motions 8-139 and 8-139b completely (with due apologies to General Robert).

MOTION 8-149: Messenger/Reilly, the board establishes an ad hoc e-zine committee and names Donna Alarie as chairperson with the authority to appoint additional committee members. Passed without dissent.

Donna Alarie named George Mirijanian, Stephen Dann, Brian Lafferty, and Brian Mottershead to the e-zine committee. Maryanne Reilly is a member of the committee ex officio.

MOTION 8-150: Alarie/Ballou, Brian Lafferty replaces the late Gus Gosselin as alternate delegate to the USCF for the 2007-2008 term. Passed without dissent (absentions: Lafferty).


MOTION 8-151: Ballou/Messenger, MACA will support the Boston Blitz for the U.S. Chess League 2008 season with a contribution of $500.

MOTION 8-151a: Mirijanian/Lafferty, motion 8-151 is postponed to the next board meeting. Passed without dissent.

MOTION 8-152: Messenger/Reilly, the tournament committee is authorized to organize the 2008 New England Open at a cost not to exceed $10,000, provided the New England Chess Association (NECA) awards the bid to MACA. Passed without dissent (abstentions: Dann).

The next MACA board meeting is scheduled for March 16, 2008.l

MOTION 8-153: Ballou/Messenger, to adjourn. Passed without dissent.

The meeting adjourned at 5:37 PM.

Kenneth Ballou, acting clerk


1. Membership report as of February 21, 2008
2. Prison chess report as of February 23, 2008

1. Membership report as of February 21, 2008

234 adult members
43 family members
369 junior members
216 life members
1 affiliate member
6 complimentary copies of Chess Horizons
17 exchanges with other organizations
6 libraries
198 prison
52 subscribers
1142 (of which 819 are entitled to vote)

Robert D. Messenger
Membership secretary

2. Prison chess report (as of February 23, 2008)

Howard Goldowsky and I visited Walpole state prison on 12 Feb. and had an 'enjoyable' time. It was my first visit to that facility in 20 yrs.

They are looking for a rulebook. if anyone has an old one that they could part with, that would suffice. [Give it to Ken Ballou.]

They also need some improved chess sets so I'm 'purchasing' 4 sets from the LMCF using Prison Chess funds.

Steven J. Frymer
Prison chess coordinator

back to top