Skip Navigation LinksMACA Home > Scholastic Chess > Scholastic Championships > 2017 Spiegel Cup Invitation
MACA 2017 Spiegel Cup State Scholastic Championships
Spiegel Cup / State Singles Championship Invitation - Invitee List

Note: This is the official invitation list for the Championship. The invitations are issued to the winners of the four qualifiers and then to the top *five players in each section on the basis of the official March 2017 USCF Rating Supplement. The final spot goes to the Spiegel Cup Series (SCS) Winner. (These are the final official ratings for the Spiegel Cup.)

* Player Accepted Invitation in Blue. Player Declined Invitation in Red.

2016 Result: Click Here

For tournament related questions please contact MACA Scholastic Chair Steve Frymer. If you have technical difficulty with the website, please e-mail MACA Webmaster Tiffany Wang.

Data compiled by Dmitry Barash
Age 8 & Under Age 11 & Under Age 14 & Under
As of March 9, 2017
Jonathan Traub Q1 winner
Victor Feng Q2 winner
Eric Li Q3 winner
Evan Wei Q4 winner
Isabella Lai SCS winner

Alexander Fang Meng
Lawrence Tu

Justin Li
Eric Feng
Kelsey Liu
Maya Figelman 1st alternate
Riya Kanury 2nd alternate 


As of March 9, 2017
David Xie Q1 winner
Ryan Wang Q2 winner

David Katsman Q3 winner
Eddie Wei Q4 winner
Nicholas Belous SCS winner

Dustin Liang

Derek Jin
Derek Zhao

Bernie Xu
 David Zhou

Lewis Tu  1st alternate
John Archibald 2nd alternate 

As of March 9, 2017 [happy birthday bobby fischer]

Danila Poliannikov Q1 winner
Alex Yu Q2 winner
Vineeth Nareddy Q3 winner

Michael Mi Q4 winner

Vittal Ranganath SCS winner

Carissa Yip 
Brandon Wu
Jason Tang 
Suraj Ramanathan 
Alan Song 
Jerry Li 2063 1st alternate
Eric Feng 2nd alternate
Maxwell Chen 3rd alternate  


    High School Section:

    The Massachusetts High School championship will be open to all players in grades 9-12, and will not be an invitational.