Skip Navigation Links
MACA Chess News
02/11/2018Prize winners at the Blitz and Bughouse Festival

Prize Winners at the Blitz and Bughouse Festival, held February 11th in Marlborough, Mass.


1st Caden O'Brien 4-0
2nd-3rd Edmund Pritchard, Tristan Pritchard 2-2
Top U1600 Agathyan Sivaharan 1-3
Top U1200 Aneesh Guda 1-3


1st Roberto Jay / Andres Jay 3-2
2nd Rishi Ponnapalli / Aneesh Guda 2-3

Tied players are listed in tiebreak order.

The tournament was directed by Bob Messenger and Dmitry Barash.

Bob Messenger
Chief TD

01/28/2018Winter Team Challenge prize winners

Prize winners at the Winter Team Challenge, held January 28 in Marlborough, Mass.

K-12 Section:

1st Newton North High School (Alex Fauman, David McCabe, Gershon Gilman, Andrew Trias, Flynn Zhi) 4-0
2nd-3rd Cleveland Indians (Vineeth Nareddy, Adithya Sharma, Krishna Mutnuri, Venkatraman Varatharajan),
    ChessMinds (Sai Sneha Yerra, Saanvi Tiruveedhula, Sophia Rosenholtz, Prachi Dayal) 2.5-1.5

Medals: Zubin Baliga (Lexington H.S.) 3.5-0.5
    Alan Sikarov (Newton South H.S.) 3-1

K-6 Section:

1st-2nd Andover Chess Club A (Bryan Henroid, Anika Nagle, Ryan Greenwood, Anoushka Nagle),
    Bowen Bishops (Jared Mi, Alexander Tran, Eyal Zeldich, Aritra Ghosh) 3.5-0.5
3rd-4th Andover Chess Club C (Irith Midha, Pranavi Vedula, Ryana Riaz, Adrian Christopher),
    Andover Chess Club B (Chirag Katragadda, Mitran Kumar, Siddhant Kulnarni, Zaid Kanzi-Belghiti) 2-2

K-3 Section:

1st Andover Chess Club C (Tristan Pritchard, Edmund Pritchard, Rayhan Riaz, Alexander Arcidiacono) 3.5-0.5
2nd Russian Knights (Nikolay Avdokhin, Daniel Tatar, Mark Piryatinsky, Maksim Orlovskii, Yan Barash, Daniel Ramakrishnan) 3-1
3rd-4th Newton Knights (Zachary Beaver, Eric Zhang, Tobias Harrison, Jomas Novina),
    Lawrence Bad Bishops (Maya Figelman, David Figelman, Jonathan Kellis, Harrison Platt) 2.5-1.5

Medals: Ayush Patel (ChessMasters), Suhavi Tiruveedhula (ChessMasters), Ethan Qiao (Chess Master Connections), Hrishikesh Vedula (Andover Chess Club A) 3-1

Teams are listed in tiebreak order.

The tournament was directed by Bob Messenger, Nicholas Sterling, Jeff Caruso, Dima Barash, and Steve Frymer.

Bob Messenger
Chief TD

01/27/20182018 Winter Team Challenge Adv. Entry

Adv. Entries for 2018 Winter Team Challenge: 

  • As of 01/26/18 11:39 PM
  • As of 01/25/18 08:50 PM
  • As of 01/24/18 08:54 PM

Tiffany Wang
MACA Webmaster

01/14/2018 Election Registration

 Election Registration

Once again, MACA is offering online voting for the annual election. Those who choose to vote online will receive a survey link several weeks prior to the Massachusetts Open in May. Those who would prefer a paper ballot are still able to request one. REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED FOR BOTH VOTING OPTIONS. 
If you registered to vote in prior years, you do not need to register again unless your address has changed. New members who joined MACA after March 2017 will need to register to vote in this year's election.  
Members can register for an online or paper ballot (not both) as follows:
TO REGISTER FOR AN ONLINE BALLOT: Email with full name and unique email address by February 28, 2018.
TO REGISTER FOR A PAPER BALLOT: send a letter to Bob Messenger at 4 Hamlett Dr. #12, Nashua, NH 03062, postmarked no later than February 23. You can send an email to to check on your registration status.
To vote, MACA membership must be valid as of February 28, 2018. For frequently asked questions, such as registering junior members, and any other concerns, please go to

Oleg V. Poliannikov
MACA Web Coordinator

01/14/2018 Massachusetts Chess Association Call for Nominations

 Massachusetts Chess Association Call for Nominations

The Massachusetts Chess Association is now accepting nominations for the annual election of its 12-member board, to serve from June 2018 to June 2019. Members may stand for election for one of its 4 officer positions (President, Vice President, Treasurer or Clerk) or 8 director positions. The submission deadline for nominations is February 15, 2018. In order to be eligible to run, memberships must be valid through the end of the upcoming term (June 2019). 
For more information, please review MACA's current bylaws ( or visit the Elections FAQ at
Please e-mail nominations and questions to

Oleg V. Poliannikov
MACA Web Coordinator

01/14/2018Prize winners at the Gus Gosselin Grade Championship

Prize winners at the Gus Gosselin Grade Championship, held January 14 in Marlborough, Mass.

Grades 8-12

1st Tony Wang 4-0
2nd Kevin Hass 2.5-1.5
3rd Vinneth Nareddy (8th grade) 1.5-2.5
Top 8th grade Henry Booth: 1-3

Grade 7

1st Fedor Beliav 3-1
2nd-5th Arnav Harve, Vinamra Jain, Joanne Zhou, Oscar Gillette 2-2

Grade 6

1st Jack Tompros 3.5-0.5
2nd-3rd Eli Traub, Vishnu Mandepudi 3-1

Grade 5

1st Isaac Gordon 3.5-0.5
2nd-3rd Sritan Devineni 3-1

Grade 4

1st Y Owen Ji 4-0
2nd Sophia Tatar 3-1
3rd-6th Raeann Zhou, Declan Walsh, Jeremy Reddy, Tejas Kulkarni 2-2

Grade 3

1st Tyler Cummins 4-0
2nd-4th Jonathan Traub, Isabella Lai, Sam Parsi 3-1

Grade 2

1st Jacob Wu 4-0
2nd Jeffrey Yin 3.5-0.5
3rd Killian Cunjak 3-1

Grades K-1

1st Aidan Tan 4-0
2nd-3rd Sujay Kunamneni, Y Luke Ji (kindergarten) 3-1
Top Kindergarten Jonathan Kellis 2-2

Tied players are listed in tiebreak order.

The tournament was directed by Bob Messenger, Chris and Cameron Bird, Nicholas Sterling, and Steve Frymer.

Bob Messenger
Chief TD

01/13/2018Adv. Entries for 2018 GGG Championship

Advance Entries for 2018 GGG Championship as of 01/13/18 02:097 PM: 

1st post as of 01/11/18 09:09 PM.

Tiffany Wang
MACA Webmaster